Lloyd, Schmidt Named Taylor Scholar-Athlete Award Winners

2017 UW-Oshkosh John Taylor Scholar-Athlete Award Winners - Branden Lloyd (left) & Taylor Schmidt.
2017 UW-Oshkosh John Taylor Scholar-Athlete Award Winners - Branden Lloyd (left) & Taylor Schmidt.

Branden Lloyd from football and Taylor Schmidt from women’s basketball were named the 2017 recipients of the UW-Oshkosh John Taylor Scholar-Athlete Award.

The John Taylor Scholar-Athlete Award is presented annually to an outstanding male and female senior letter winner who owns a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or higher. The award reflects not only individual athletic accomplishments, but also embodies the ideals of team contribution, scholastic endeavor and community involvement.

Lloyd, a two-time All-WIAC selection at linebacker, helped UW-Oshkosh to one conference championship and a pair of trips to the NCAA Division III postseason, including the program’s first appearance in the national title game.

Last season, Lloyd registered 66 tackles, including a team-leading 12 for loss and 5.5 sacks, as the Titans advanced to the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl – the Division III title game – for the first time. Lloyd’s season totals also featured one fumble recovery and one interception.

Lloyd’s senior season was highlighted by a stellar performance against John Carroll University (Ohio) in the Division III semifinals. The Titans defeated the Blue Streaks, 10-3, in Oshkosh as Lloyd recorded six tackles, including three for loss and two sacks, and forced a fumble.

Lloyd then had six tackles, including one sack, as UW-Oshkosh fell, 10-7, in the national final to University of Mary Hardin-Baylor (Texas) in Salem, Va.

UW-Oshkosh produced a 38-10 record during Lloyd’s four seasons, including marks of 13-2 in 2016, 11-2 in 2015 and 8-2 in 2013. The Titans won the 2015 WIAC title before advancing to the quarterfinal round of the NCAA Championship.

Lloyd tallied 63 tackles in 2015, 47 in 2014 and 17 as a freshman in 2013. He compiled a career-high 12 tackles against Marian University (Ind.) in 2014. In 2015, Lloyd blocked a field goal with less than two minutes remaining as the Titans defeated UW-Whitewater, 10-7, to snap the two-time defending national champion Warhawks’ 36-game winning streak.

Lloyd, a four-year letter winner, capped his career with 193 tackles, 14.5 sacks, three interceptions and one fumble recovery in 48 games played.

Lloyd is a kinesiology major and owns a 3.551 cumulative grade point average.

Schmidt started each of UW-Oshkosh’s 119 games during her four seasons as the Titans compiled a 98-21 record and reached the NCAA Division III postseason each year.

With Schmidt at point guard, the Titans won three consecutive WIAC Tournament titles from 2014-16 before securing the league's regular-season title in 2017.

Schmidt, a four-time All-WIAC honoree, was selected to the league’s top team the past three years after garnering honorable mention recognition in 2014. Schmidt earned 2017 WIAC Player of the Year and All-Defensive Team honors on the way to being named to All-America honorable mention teams by both D3hoops.com and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association.

Schmidt’s list of accolades also include Division III All-Central Region first team laurels in 2017 from D3hoops.com and all-region second team status in both 2015 and 2016.

In her senior year, Schmidt led UW-Oshkosh in scoring at 10.9 points per game, free throw percentage at .750 (90-120) and steals with 49. Her performance helped the Titans compile a 26-4 record en route to winning the WIAC regular-season title by three games.

Schmidt scored in double figures 20 times in 2017, including a season-high 20 points during a 77-65 victory over UW-Eau Claire on Jan. 14. She also recorded 14 points and a career-high nine assists in a season-ending loss at Washington University in St. Louis (Mo.) on March 10.

Schmidt concluded her career as the school's leader in both free throws made (401) and attempted (513) while listing fifth on the program's scoring list with 1,281 points. She helped UW-Oshkosh become one of eight programs to win at least one game during each of the past four NCAA postseason tournaments. The Titans advanced to the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Championship in 2014 and 2017 as well as making second-round appearances in both 2015 and 2016.

Schmidt, UW-Oshkosh's 2017 NCAA Woman of the Year nominee, helped the Titans to records of 26-4 in 2014, 23-7 in 2015 and 23-6 in 2016. UW-Oshkosh’s 98 wins during Schmidt’s four seasons are its most since the Titans went 98-15 from 1997-2000.

Schmidt's career totals also include 321 assists, 287 rebounds and 124 3-pointers. She averaged 10.2 points per game during her freshman season in 2014 and 11 points per contest in both 2015 and 2016. She scored at least 10 points in 66 games during her career, including a high of 24 in a 94-71 win over UW-Stout in 2015. She also recorded a career-best seven steals in a 64-58 victory over UW-Stout on Jan. 7 this season.

Schmidt is a communication major and owns a 3.428 cumulative grade point average.

The John Taylor Scholar-Athlete Award was first presented in 1976.

UW-Oshkosh also named Sara Brunlieb from softball and Robyn Elliott from soccer as its 2017 winners of the Phyllis Roney Women's Coaches Award.