Wara Named To AFCA All-America Team

Nate Wara finished his career with 103 total touchdowns
Nate Wara finished his career with 103 total touchdowns

UW-Oshkosh quarterback Nate Wara (Sr. • Oshkosh) has received NCAA Division III All-America honors from the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA). Wara is the first Titan to be recognized since the AFCA All-America program began in 1945.

A total of 25 players were named to this year's All-America team, one at each position. The squad featured two other Wisconsin players with punter Christian Hallingstad of UW-La Crosse and defensive back Ryan McWethy of UW-Platteville. All-purpose back John Borsellino of Benedictine University (Ill.), defensive back Nick Driskill of the University of University of Mount Union (Ohio) and center Curtis James of the University of St. Thomas (Minn.) repeated from 2011.

Wara totaled 4,051 yards and 40 touchdowns as the leader of UW-Oshkosh's record-breaking offense. He posted 3,311 yards with 30 scores while completing 65 percent (238-366) of his passes. Wara also rushed 185 times for 740 yards and 10 touchdowns. The Titans scored 525 points this year – an average of 37.5 per game.

In the season opener against Central College (Iowa), Wara threw for 275 yards and four touchdowns while running for 118 yards and two scores. He compiled a career-best 369 passing yards with four touchdowns as the Titans won at UW-La Crosse for the first time in 45 years. Wara totaled 11 touchdowns during the playoffs, including three scoring throws against both The College of St. Scholastica (Minn.) and Bethel University (Minn.).

Wara started all 44 games the past four years, leading UW-Oshkosh to a 28-16 record. He ranks second in WIAC history in total offense (11,202 yards), third in passer rating (147.8), fourth in touchdown passes (80) and fifth in completions (750). Wara finished with 8,881 passing yards, in addition to 2,321 yards and 23 touchdowns rushing.

Wara, who ranks 13th in NCAA Division III history for total offense, is one of four finalists for the Gagliardi Trophy. The National Player of the Year award will be presented on Wednesday (Dec. 12) in Salem, Va. Wara already claimed Player of the Year honors for the WIAC and D3football.com's West Region.

UW-Oshkosh finished the season with a program-best 13 victories. The Titans made their first playoff appearance and advanced all the way to the national semifinals, where they lost a 28-14 decision to St. Thomas.

2012 AFCA All-America Team