Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Dwyer Receives WIAC Basketball Scholar-Athlete Award

Dwyer Receives WIAC Basketball Scholar-Athlete Award

UW-Oshkosh senior forward Sean Dwyer has been named the 2017 recipient of the WIAC Max Sparger Men's Basketball Scholar-Athlete Award.

Sponsored by Badgerland Financial, Dwyer becomes the third Titan to win the award. UW-Oshkosh's previous winners were Joe Imhoff in 1997 and Greg Schrimpf in 2012.

Dwyer is majoring in finance with a minor in business analytics and owns a 3.75 cumulative grade point average. The Palos Park, Ill., native was named to the 2015-16 National Association of Basketball Coaches Honors Court and is a three-time member of the WIAC's Scholastic Honor Roll. Dwyer has been recognized on UW-Oshkosh's Dean's List and Honor Roll, as well as being a National Scholar Award Recipient.

A team captain this year, Dwyer was named to the WIAC All-Sportsmanship Team in 2015 and 2016. He was a member of last season's squad that claimed the conference tournament title and advanced to the NCAA Division III Championship. This year's Titans received an at-large berth to the national postseason and will take a 17-10 record into Friday's (March 3) at Hope College (Mich.).

Dwyer is a member of the National Society of Leadership and Success, as well as the Golden Key and Beta Gamma Sigma International Honor Societies. In addition, he is a member of UW-Oshkosh's Finance Club and Business Scholars Program. Dwyer has served as a team representative for Friends of Jaclyn and, in 2015, participated in a NCAA Career in Sports Forum.

This season, Dwyer has scored 55 points and grabbed 37 rebounds in 24 games, including three as a starter. He tallied a season-best nine points against both Iowa Wesleyan University on Nov. 18 and Maranatha Baptist University on Dec. 5.

Dwyer's career totals include 364 points, 157 rebounds and 105 3-pointers in 95 games, including 12 as a starter.

Also nominated for this year's award were UW-Eau Claire's Andrew Duxbury, UW-Stevens Point's Brad Freeborn and UW-Stout's Brett Ahsenmacher.

The WIAC Scholar-Athlete Award is named after Max Sparger, who served as commissioner of the Wisconsin State University Conference for 22 years from 1971-93.

In order to be nominated for the scholar-athlete award, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.50 grade point average. In addition, he must be in his last year of competition, or on schedule to graduate this academic year, and have competed for a minimum of two years.