Titans Rule Eight-Team Open

Titans Rule Eight-Team Open

Kenny Halloran (So. • Mt. Prospect, Ill.) won both the 800 and 1,200-meter runs as UW-Oshkosh captured its Men's Track & Field Open on Friday (Jan. 25) in Kolf Sports Center.

The Titans weren't challenged in the eight-team meet, racking up 279 points. Second-place Michigan Tech totaled 106, while St. Norbert College earned third with 80, Lawrence University fourth with 61 and Ripon College fifth with 46.

In the 1,200-meter race, Halloran clocked a 3:03.81 to win by more than four seconds. He added a victorious time of 1:58.72 in the 800-meter event.

Nick Baatz (Sr. • Brownsville) broke a 29-year-old facility record with his winning shot put of 61-2.25. Teammate Jeremy Brandt (Jr. • Wausau) followed in second place at 55-4.25.

During the weight throw, Pete Delzer (Sr. • Oconto Falls) posted a 66-2.5 for first place and Baatz marked a 60-2.5 for second.

Remaining wins came from Corey Wilch (Jr. • Waukesha) in the 60-meter hurdles at 8.54, Matt Champan (So. • Waukesha) in the mile run at 4:21.69, Jake Dickmann (Sr. • Kewaskum) with his pole vault of 15-0.25 and Donald Klitz (Sr. • Markesan) with a high jump of 6-8.

In the 400-meter run, Ryan Gregory (So. • Mahtomedi, Minn.) took second in 50.96 and Frank O'Neal (Sr. • Viroqua) listed third in 51.04.

O'Neal also contributed on the Titans' victorious 1,600-meter relay team. Andrew Fricke (Fr. • Kenosha), Brian Huebner (Fr. • Green Bay) and Matt Lawrence (Jr. • Plainfield, Ill.) ran the other legs for their time of 3:26.62.

John McCann (Jr. • Elroy) also high-jumped 6-8 before settling for second place. Other runner-up finishes were provided by Lawrence in the 1,200-meter run at 3:09.26, Naji Allan (Fr. • Sheboygan) in the 60-meter dash at 7.16, Adam Ruiz (So. • New Berlin) in the pole vault at 13-6.25, Lee Robinson (So. • Racine) in the long jump at 21-11.5 and Ryan Sprenger (Jr. • Larsen) in the 200-meter dash at 22.75.

UW-Oshkosh competes at the Warhawk Classic on Friday (Feb. 2) in Whitewater.