Pioneers Edge Titans For Warhawk Invitational Title

The Titans' John Dewitt captured the individual title by 13 seconds
The Titans' John Dewitt captured the individual title by 13 seconds

UW-Oshkosh came up one point short as UW-Platteville edged the Titans for a first-place finish at the Warhawk Men's Cross Country Invitational held Saturday (Sept. 15) in Whitewater.

UW-Platteville won the 10-team meet with 45 points. The Pioneers had five of the meet's top 16 runners, including Ian LaMere who finished fourth in the 8,000-meter race with a time of 26:32.

UW-Oshkosh totaled 46 points for its second-place score. John Dewitt (Sr. • Oshkosh) captured the individual title by 13 seconds as he completed the course in 26:06. The Titans' Derek Johnsrud (Jr. • Fall River) finished fifth with a time of 26:34, while Kenny Halloran (So. • Mount Prospect, Ill.) placed seventh in 26:47, Mike Foust (Jr. • Oshkosh) 15th in 27:16 and John Block (Jr. • Madison) 21st in 27:44.

Host UW-Whitewater scored 68 points to rank third in the team standings. The Warhawks were followed by fourth-place Lawrence University with 96 points and fifth-place Edgewood College with 145.

Completing the list of runners in the top-five were Sam Stevens of Lawrence University and Dawson Miller of UW-Whitewater. Stevens finished second with a time of 26:19 and Miller third in 26:23.

UW-Oshkosh also had Matt Champan (Jr. • Waukesha) place 30th among the meet's 129 runners with a time of 27:57, Ryne Scopp (So. • Kenosha) 36th in 28:17, Jacob Clarke (Fr. • Racine) 42nd in 28:32, Jordan Black (Fr. • Verona) 57th in 29:12 and Max Kramer (Jr. • Oshkosh) 61st in 29:19.

UW-Oshkosh is idle until it competes at the Notre Dame Invitational on Sept. 28 in South Bend, Ind.