McNiff Attends NCAA Women Coaches Academy

McNiff Attends NCAA Women Coaches Academy

UW-Oshkosh assistant women's basketball coach Kelly McNiff was one of 47 NCAA Division I, II and III female coaches who attended the NCAA Women Coaches Academy (WCA) from May 31 - June 3 in Englewood, Colo.

The Alliance of Women Coaches sponsored the event and selected the participants for its four days of non-sport specific educational training. The 41st class of the NCAA Women Coaches Academy was balanced by sport, division, position and experience level.

"The NCAA Women Coaches Academy is the premier program offering education, resources and the support that female coaches need to stay and advance in the coaching profession," said Alliance Executive Director Megan Kahn. "The feedback we continually receive is that this program is 'life-changing' – the 41st class of the WCA proved to be just that. The week is powerfully transformative on so many levels and uniquely connects female coaches across all NCAA divisions and sports. On behalf of the Alliance staff, Board and community of coaches, we are forever grateful for the partnership of the NCAA in their support of female coaches."

The NCAA Women Coaches Academy was held in conjunction with the Women Leaders in College Sports program, the NCAA Institute for Administrators Advancement. The two organizations held a joint session bringing female coaches and administrators together for focused dialogue, learning and networking.

Carroll University (Wis.) head softball coach Amy Gradecki and University of Memphis (Tenn.) head volleyball coach April Jauregui were selected as the Judy Sweet Award winners for Class #41. This award, named after Alliance co-founder Judy Sweet, recognizes two members at each Academy whose spirit and dedication to their own and to others' personal and professional success has made an impact on their peers. Fellow classmates granted the honor via nomination.

NCAA Women Coaches Academy Class #41

Anahit Aladzhanyan – Occidental College (Basketball)
Kate Anderson – University of New Hampshire (Skiing)
Suzanne Behme – University of Rochester (Lacrosse)
Nora Boerger – Lenoir Rhyne University (Lacrosse)
Samantha Borawski – Saint Mary's University of Minnesota (Softball)
Ange Bradley – Syracuse University (Field Hockey)
Sarah Brady – Iona College (Soccer)
Jacey Brooks – Bowling Green State University (Basketball)
Michele Canning – New York University (Soccer)
Johanna Clair – Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges (Softball)
Eden Denney – Central College (Volleyball)
Melissa Devore – Limestone College (Basketball)
Colleen Doherty – Quinnipiac University (Rugby)
Olga Elkin – Iowa State University (Tennis)
Kaitlyn Ferguson – Penn State University (Swimming)
Juli Fulks – Transylvania University (Basketball)
Amy Gradecki – Carroll University (Softball)
Mary Gunn – Southeast Missouri State University (Tennis)
Cassandra Haase – Newbury College (Lacrosse)
Kelsey Hinton – College of William & Mary (Gymnastics)
April Jauregui – University of Memphis (Volleyball)
Ashley Kaufman – Washington and Lee University (Soccer)
Kim Kearney – North Carolina A&T State University (Bowling)
Amy Kiah – Wofford College (Soccer)
Jessica Klein – Iowa State University (Volleyball)
Amy Kolowsky – Appalachian State University (Soccer)
Kristin Kunzman – University of Virginia's College at Wise (Basketball)
Yvette Lewis – Norfolk State University (Track & Field)
Emily Mansur – Hofstra University (Volleyball)
Taylor Marshall – Florida Institute of Technology (Lacrosse)
Laurie Mayernik – St. Thomas Aquinas College (Field Hockey)
Kate McArthur – Millikin University (Soccer)
Kelly McNiff – University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh (Basketball)
Athena Miller – Dartmouth College (Swimming & Diving)
Jashell Mitchell – North Carolina Central University (Football)
Gabrielle Moore – Jackson State University (Tennis)
Jaresha Obey – University of the District of Columbia (Basketball)
Jill Pace – Pomona-Pitzer Colleges (Basketball)
Ashley Petak – Regis University (Volleyball)
Chelsea Popplewell – Colorado State University (Diving)
Lara Preacco – Florida Atlantic University (Swimming)
Tanya Roberts – formerly, University of Rhode Island (Soccer)
Harley Roller-Kashman – Albany State University (Softball)
Julia Steier – Huntingdon College (Lacrosse)
Bailey Thornton – Agnes Scott College (Volleyball)
Emily Wang – Eastern Illinois University (Tennis)
Brianne Weaver – Bowdoin College (Soccer)

For more information on the Alliance of Women Coaches, visit