Cazzola, Dorsey, Ludtke Gain National Awards

Cazzola, Dorsey, Ludtke Gain National Awards

After setting four NCAA Division III all-time records, Christy Cazzola (Sr. • Kaukauna) was voted National Indoor Track Athlete of the Year. UW-Oshkosh also had Ben Dorsey and Drew Ludtke named Co-Coaches of the Year by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.

At the national meet on March 8-9, Cazzola won individual titles in the mile and 5,000-meter runs. She also ran the anchor leg on UW-Oshkosh's victorious distance medley relay. The Titans won the team championship, as Cazzola became the first woman to win three distance races at one indoor meet.

Cazzola's season began on Nov. 30, when she ran the fastest 5,000-meter time (16:21.49) in NCAA Division III history.

On Feb. 9, Cazzola broke national records in both the 800-meter (2:05.76) and mile (4:43.13) runs. She then teamed with McKenzie Kelly, Stephanie Jahn and Kylee Verhasselt in the distance medley relay at the national championship. The group posted a Division III-record of 11:32.24 that won the gold medal.

Cazzola also defended her WIAC title in the mile run, while capturing the 5,000-meter race and distance medley relay at the league championship on Feb. 22-23. Over the past three years, Cazzola has won six WIAC individual crowns and five national titles on the indoor track.

Cazzola was named the USTFCCA Cross Country Athlete of the Year during November.

UW-Oshkosh's other Indoor Track Athlete of the Year was Liz Woodworth in 2004.

Melissa Norville (Ill. College) gained the Women's Field Athlete of the Year award. The men's recipients were Dan Sullivan (UW-Stevens Point) for track and Isaac Vazquez (UW-La Crosse) for field.

In their first season as co-head coaches, Dorsey and Ludtke led the Titans to a national title. It was the program's eighth indoor crown. UW-Oshkosh won five events while scoring 56 points, the second-highest team total since 2004.

Dorsey and Ludtke also led the Titans to first-place finishes at the Titan Open, Warhawk Classic and Eastbay Invitational.

The National Women's Assistant Coach of the Year was Brian Woodard of Monmouth College (Ill.). The men's awards went to UW-La Crosse head coach Josh Buchholtz and UW-Whitewater assistant coach Eric Schueffner.