Brian Schaefer
Brian Schaefer
Title: Head Coach
Phone: (920) 424-1392
Office: 131 Kolf Sports Center
Season: 10th
College: UW-Oshkosh (1996 & 2002)

Brian Schaefer has compiled a stellar .750 winning percentage in his 10 years as UW-Oshkosh’s volleyball coach. His tenure includes five WIAC titles and six berths in the NCAA Division III Championship.

Schaefer, who took over for Marty Petersen in 2004, holds an overall record of 273-91. His victory total ranks 10th in league history.

In 2008 and 2009, UW-Oshkosh achieved the top two seasons in program history with records of 40-3 and 39-3, respectively. The 2008 team shared the WIAC regular-season crown and won the WIAC Tournament. During 2009, the Titans won the league with an undefeated record, their first since 1990. Both years culminated with an appearance in the Elite Eight of the NCAA Division III Championship after UW-Oshkosh won the Midwest Regional. The Titans captured third place nationally during 2009 and fifth place in 2008.

The 2009 season also marked the first time the Titans were ranked #1 by the American Volleyball Coaches Association, a standing they held for six weeks. Schaefer coached the Titans to 29 straight victories that year, setting the WIAC record. UW-Oshkosh also booked a 25-match winning streak in 2007.

Schaefer was named the NCAA Division III Midwest Region Coach of the Year during 2005, 2008 and 2009. He also received the WIAC Coach of the Year award in those three seasons.

In 2007, UW-Oshkosh advanced to the second round of the NCAA Division III Championship before losing in five sets to eventual national champion Washington University (Mo.). The Titans finished 32-6 and ranked 13th in the country. During the season, UW-Oshkosh established a new NCAA Division III record with 57 consecutive sets won.

Schaefer’s first full year of coaching in 2005 saw him take a UW-Oshkosh squad that was picked to finish seventh in the league standings to a top-10 national ranking, a WIAC title and the second round of the NCAA Division III Championship. The Titans finished the season with a 36-5 record as the 10th-ranked team in the nation.

Prior to becoming head coach, Schaefer served as an assistant coach for six years. During that time, the Titans compiled a 143-58 record with two NCAA Division III postseason visits and one WIAC title. UW-Oshkosh listed ninth in the final national poll during 2001, 12th in 2000 and 21st in 2003.

During Schaefer's association with the UW-Oshkosh women's volleyball program, he has coached athletes to one NCAA Division III National Player of the Year, 14 NCAA Division III All-America, 22 NCAA Division III All-Midwest Region and 30 All-WIAC awards. In 2009, Christina Cahoon became the first libero to win National Player of the Year in any NCAA Division.

Schaefer, a Kaukauna High School graduate, received his bachelor’s degree in social work from UW-Oshkosh in 1996. He also earned a master’s degree in educational leadership from the school in 2002.

As a student, Schaefer was a member of the UW-Oshkosh men’s volleyball club team that won the 1996 National Intramural Recreation Sports Association (NIRSA) Division II Championship. Schaefer helped his team to the Wisconsin Volleyball Conference (WVC) title in both 1999 and 2000. He was an all-league first team selection in 2001.

Schaefer has been the head coach of the UW-Oshkosh men's volleyball club team since 2000, guiding the Titans' Division I squad to a 610-147-5 record (.804 winning percentage). He coached UW-Oshkosh to WVC Division I titles in 2000, 2004, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 and 11 straight Midwest Ten Conference championships from 2003-2013.

After finishing fifth at the collegiate club Division I Championship in 2003 and 2004 and second in 2005, Schaefer directed UW-Oshkosh to national titles in 2006, 2007 and 2011. The Titans added a runner-up finish in 2009 and a third-place result in 2012 and 2013.

UW-Oshkosh captured the 2010 and 2012 Division III national titles and is considered one of the strongest collegiate club programs in the country, sending two teams to the national tournament each season. UW-Oshkosh owns six national championships, the most by a NCAA Division III team playing collegiate club volleyball.

During his tenure coaching the UW-Oshkosh men, Schaefer mentored 31 players to 46 collegiate club All-America and 93 All-WVC awards. He was named the 2005 collegiate club Division I National Coach of the Year.