Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UW-Oshkosh To Host High School All-Star Football Games

UW-Oshkosh To Host High School All-Star Football Games

The state's top senior players from the 2018 high school football season showcase their talents when UW-Oshkosh hosts the 43rd Annual Wisconsin Football Coaches Association (WFCA) All-Star Classic on Saturday (July 20) at J. J. Keller Field at Titan Stadium.

The event features three all-star games, including an Eight-Player contest that kicks off the schedule at 10 a.m. Players will compete in the Division 4-7 game at 1:30 p.m. and the Division 1-3 contest at 5 p.m.

The Eight-Player game, which debuted in 2015, kicks off the day of football. Siren's Ryan Karsten will coach the North team and Newman Catholic's Paul Michlig the South. The contest includes Jeremy Jorns, Max Krohn, Jaden Schartner-Sawyer and Nathan Stenzel from state champion Sevastopol and Dennis Brule and Andrew Moos from state runner-up Luck.

Head coaches in the Division 4-7 contest are Spencer/Columbus' Jason Gorst for the North and Potosi/Cassville's Mark Siegert for the South. Among the players participating in the Division 4-7 game are Daryl Carter Jr. and Timothy Carthron Jr. and Adrian Garcia from Division 4 state champion Racine St. Catherine's; Nathan Berends, Austin Kopacz and Ryan Larson from Division 4 state runner-up St. Croix Central; Jacob Schrauth and Mitch Waetchter from Division 5 state champion St. Mary's Springs; Kade Ehrike and Dylan Schoenherr from Division 5 state runner-up Stratford; Bryce Huettner, Carter Kurki and Kellan Wandtke from Division 6 state champion Iola-Scandinavia; Colby Argall and Reece Shelton from Division 7 state champion Black Hawk; and Karson Butt, Ty Guden and Brock Handrick from Division 7 state runner-up Edgar.

The Division 1-3 head coaches are River Falls' David Crail for the North and McFarland's Paul Ackley for the South. The Division 1-3 contest features RJ Bosshart and Austin Burke from Division 1 state champion Muskego; Cody Staerkel and Trey Tennessen from Division 1 state runner-up Kimberly; George Lampen, Howie Newbauer IV and Garrett Wilson from Division 2 state champion Homestead; and Garrett Kempen from Division 3 state runner-up West De Pere.

All six teams began practicing Sunday (July 14), with the North squads honing their skills at UW-Oshkosh and the South teams at UW-Whitewater. 

The North won last year's Eight-Player game, 36-18, while the South captured the Division 1-3 and Division 4-7 contests by scores of 22-21 and 27-7, respectively.

The WFCA All-Star Classic is being held in Oshkosh for the 38th time. The event was held at Madison's Camp Randall Stadium from 1999 to 2002 and Menasha's Calder Stadium in 2004.

Fund-raising efforts and proceeds from the games have gone to the Children's Hospital of Wisconsin. Over the past 15 years, nearly $4 million has been raised to benefit patient care programs.

The Divisions 4-7 and 1-3 games will be televised live on Fox Sports Wisconsin PLUS.

2019 WFCA All-Star Classic Game Schedule/Results

10 a.m.: Eight-Player All-Star Game (South 21, North 6) * - Game cancelled prior to the start of the third quarter due to inclement weather.
4:30 p.m.: Division 4-7 All-Star Game (North 21, South 14)
7:45 p.m.: Division 1-3 All-Star Game (North 19, South 11)

North All-Star Teams Practice Schedule • J. J. Keller Field at Titan Stadium

Tuesday, July 16
2 p.m.: Children's Hospital of Wisconsin Visit
3:30 p.m.: Eight-Player Practice
6:30 p.m.: Division 1-3 & Division 4-7 Practice

Wednesday, July 17
8:30 a.m.: Eight-Player, Division 1-3 & Division 4-7 Practice
2:30 p.m.: Eight-Player Practice
6:30 p.m.: Division 1-3 & Division 4-7 Practice 

Thursday, July 18
8:30 a.m.: Eight-Player, Division 1-3 & Division 4-7 Practice
2 p.m.: Eight-Player Practice
6:30 p.m.: Division 1-3 & Division 4-7 Practice 

Friday, July 19
8:30 a.m.: Eight-Player Walk Through
9:30 a.m.: Division 4-7 Walk Through
10:30 a.m.: Division 1-3 Walk Through

2018 WIAA Football State Championships
Camp Randall Stadium, Madison, Wis.

Thursday, Nov. 15
Div. 7:  Black Hawk (13-0) 22, Edgar (13-1) 15 - Stats 
Div. 6:  Iola-Scandinavia (14-0) 43, Racine Lutheran (11-3) 14 - Stats
Div. 5:  St. Mary's Springs (14-0) 20, Stratford (11-3) 17 - Stats
Div. 4:  Racine St. Catherine's (14-0) 8, St. Croix Central (13-1) 7 - Stats

Friday, Nov. 16 
Div. 3:  Catholic Memorial (13-1) 37, West De Pere (13-1) 24 - Stats
Div. 2:  Homestead (14-0) 51, Brookfield Central  (12-2) 14 - Stats
Div. 1:  Muskego (14-0) 24, Kimberly (12-2) 21 - Stats

2018 WIAA Eight-Player Football State Championship
Forward Field at Oriole Park, Stanley, Wis.

Saturday, Nov. 3
Sevastopol (11-1) 38, Luck (11-1) 30 - Stats

2019 WFCA All-Star Classic Rosters

WFCA All-Star Classic Website

2018 WFCA All-State Team