Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Noone Co-Recipient Of WIAC Men's Basketball Scholar-Athlete Award

Noone Co-Recipient Of WIAC Men's Basketball Scholar-Athlete Award

UW-Oshkosh senior guard Charlie Noone has been selected as the co-recipient of the 2018 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Men's Basketball Max Sparger Scholar-Athlete Award.

Noone, who shared this year's award with Isaac Castellano from UW-River Falls, becomes the fourth Titan to earn the honor, joining Sean Dwyer in 2017, Joe Imhoff in 1998 and Greg Schrimpf in 2012.

Noone owns a 3.52 cumulative grade point average as an accounting major. The Lourdes Academy (Oshkosh) alumnus has made the UW-Oshkosh Dean's List three times and been named to the WIAC Scholastic Honor Roll on three occasions. Noone was also a member of the National Association of Basketball Coaches' Honor Court in 2017.

Noone, who has helped UW-Oshkosh to three consecutive trips to the NCAA Division III Championship, ranks second in program history with 228 3-pointers. He was named to the All-WIAC First Team in 2017 and received honorable mention accolades in 2016.

Noone, who ranks 29th in UW-Oshkosh history with 1,047 career points, is averaging 9.3 points per game this season. He led the team in scoring at 13.5 per contest and made a WIAC-leading 79 3-pointers last year.

Noone was vice president of the UW-Oshkosh Student-Athlete Advisory Committee from 2015-17. A member of the school's Accounting Club, Noone was named a UW-Oshkosh Business Scholar from 2014-18. He has also volunteered with Special Olympics each of the past four years.

UW-Stout's Isaac Elliott was also a finalist for this year's WIAC Men's Basketball Max Sparger Student-Athlete Award.

Noone and the Titans (20-7) open their third straight NCAA postseason appearance against Marietta College (Ohio) on Friday (March 2) in Springfield, Ohio.

The WIAC Scholar-Athlete Award is named after Max Sparger, who served as commissioner of the Wisconsin State University Conference for 22 years from 1971-93.

In order to be nominated for the scholar-athlete award, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.50 grade point average. In addition, he must be in his last year of competition, or on schedule to graduate this academic year, and have competed for a minimum of two years.