Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2000 UW-Oshkosh Men's Cross Country News

Titans Place Third At NCAA Championship

With all five of its scorers in the top-53 finishes, the UW-Oshkosh men's cross country team placed third at the NCAA Division III Championship held Saturday (Nov. 18) in Spokane, Wash. The finish marked the sixth time in 13 appearances at the NCAA Division III Championship that UW-Oshkosh placed in the top three.

UW-Oshkosh, a three-time champion of the event, scored 138 points for its third-place finish. Calvin College (Mich.) won its first NCAA Division III title by tallying 65 points and having all five its scorers place in the top-27 finishes. Keene State College (N.H.) finished second with 87 points, while three-time defending champion North Central College (Ill.) finished fourth with 143 points and Williams College (Mass.) fifth with 173.

Junior Phil Keskinen and senior Abe Mendoza each gained All-America accolades for the second straight year to lead UW-Oshkosh's effort. Keskinen finished fifth with a time of 25:13, while Mendoza placed 11th with a time of 25:24. Tim McCoskey of North Central College won the 8,000-meter race on the Wandemere Golf Course with a time of 24:47. Other scorers for UW-Oshkosh were 46th-place Jonathan Peterson (25:56), 50th-place Paul Chellevold (25:58) and 53rd-place Wes Shaughnessy (26:00).

Rounding out UW-Oshkosh's competitors at the NCAA Division III Championship were 86th-place Eamon McKenna (26:19) and 155th-place Brady Anderson (26:53). A total of 215 runners completed the race.

UW-Oshkosh's top-three finishes include national titles won in 1988, 1989 and 1990 and third-place finishes in 1987, 1991 and 2000.

Titans Advance To NCAA Championship

UW-Oshkosh qualified as a team entrant for next Saturday's (Nov. 18) NCAA Division III Men's Cross Country Championship in Spokane, Wash., by placing fourth at the Midwest Regional held Saturday (Nov. 11) in Colfax.

North Central College (Ill.) won its 20th Midwest Regional title in 22 years, edging second-place UW-La Crosse, 72-73, in the team scoring. UW-Platteville finished third with 106 points, while UW-Oshkosh was fourth with 113 points and UW-Whitewater fifth with 121. The top five teams at the 30-team Midwest Regional advance to the national meet, an event that UW-Oshkosh will be appearing at as a team entrant for the 12th time in 14 years.

Individually, UW-Oshkosh placed a pair of runners in the top-five finishes. Senior Abe Mendoza led the Titans with a third-place time of 24:55 on the 8,000-meter course, while junior Phil Keskinen finished fifth with a time of 24:59. Other scorers for UW-Oshkosh were 28th-place Paul Chellevold (25:48), 29th-place Wes Shaughnessy (25:48) and 48th-place Jonathan Petersen (26:19). Other runners for the Titans at the event were 53rd-place Eamon McKenna (26:22) and 95th-place Brady Anderson (27:13). Tim McCoskey of North Central College won the individual crown with a time of 24:25.

UW-Oshkosh will compete at the NCAA Division III Championship for the 13th time in school history. The Titans won NCAA Division III titles in 1988, 1989 and 1990.

Titans Run To WIAC Title

Placing three runners in the top-10 finishes, UW-Oshkosh edged UW-La Crosse to win the team title at the WIAC Men's Cross Country Championship held Saturday (October 28) in Whitewater.

UW-Oshkosh scored 51 points en route to its first-place finish, while second-place UW-La Crosse tallied 57 points and third-place UW-Platteville and UW-Whitewater 86 each. It was UW-Oshkosh's fifth conference title since 1989, with the most recent in 1995.

UW-Oshkosh's efforts were led by junior Phil Keskinen, who finished second on the 8,000-meter course with a time of 24:56. Keskinen was a 12th-place finisher a year ago. Also placing in the top-10 for the Titans were eighth-place Paul Chellevold (25:32.3) and ninth-place Abe Mendoza (25:35.3). Jesse Drake of UW-Stevens Point won the race with a time of 24:45.9. UW-Oshkosh was the only school to have three runners place in the top 10.

Rounding out UW-Oshkosh's scorers were 15th-place Wes Shaughnessy (25:41.8) and 17th-place Jonathan Peterson (25:52.9). Other competitors for the Titans at the WIAC Championship were 28th-place Brady Anderson, 33rd-place Eamon McKenna, 48th-place Jeremy Hafemann, 51st-place Patrick Seger, 56th-place Jason Fast, 62nd-place Thomas Oldenburg and 63rd-place Michael Wehrley.

The WIAC men's cross country title is the seventh for UW-Oshkosh, winning championships in 1966, 1967, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1995 and 2000.