Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Titans Place Seventh At NCAA Regional

Titans Place Seventh At NCAA Regional

Tyler Miletti and Charlend Howard finished among the top 25 runners as the UW-Oshkosh men's cross country team placed seventh at the NCAA Division III Midwest Regional held Saturday (Nov. 12) at the Lake Breeze Golf Club in Winneconne.

UW-Oshkosh totaled 215 team points as Miletti completed the 8,000-meter course with a 13th-place time of 25:02 and Howard with a 23rd-place value of 25:20.

North Central College (Ill.) scored 37 points to secure its 28th Midwest Regional title in 39 years. The Cardinals owned four of the meet's top eight runners, including Zach Plank who finished second with a time of 24:20 and Dhruvil Patel who placed fifth in 24:50.

Defending champion UW-Eau Claire placed second in the 33-team meet with 91 points while UW-La Crosse finished third with 104, Washington University in St. Louis (Mo.) fourth with 138 and UW-Stevens Point fifth with 200.

Rounding out the top 10 teams were sixth-place UW-Platteville with 202 points, eighth-place Augustana College (Ill.) with 245, ninth-place University of Chicago (Ill.) with 278 and 10th-place UW-Stout with 307.

UW-Platteville's Ian LaMere successfully defended his individual title by winning this year's race with a time of 24:02. He is the first person to win consecutive titles since North Central College's Michael Spain in 2009-10.

Other runners in the top five were UW-Eau Claire's Darin Lau and UW-La Crosse's Thomas Schultz. Lau finished third with a time of 24:32 while Schultz placed fourth in 24:41.

UW-Oshkosh's team scoring was completed with Joe Zack's 32nd-place time of 25:32, Mitch Pauers' 69th-place time of 26:20 and Trevor Damkot's 78th-place time of 26:27.

The Titans also had Dan Massey finish 133rd among the meet's 226 runners with a time of 27:23.

North Central College and UW-Eau Claire both earned automatic berths while Washington University and UW-La Crosse gained at-large bids into the NCAA Division III Championship that will be held next Saturday (Nov. 19) at the E.P. Tom Sawyer Park in Louisville, Ky.

Also qualifying for the national meet were LaMere and Matt Wubben from UW-Platteville, Tanner Osing from Augustana College, Miletti from UW-Oshkosh, Daniel Borash from UW-River Falls, Devin Sauvola from UW-Stout and Brett Harms from UW-Whitewater. They were the highest individual finishers (top seven) from a team not qualifying for the championship.

2016 NCAA Division III Men's Cross Country Midwest Regional Website

2016 NCAA Division III Men's & Women's Cross Country Championships Digital Program