Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UW-Oshkosh To Host 2019 National Gymnastics Championship

UW-Oshkosh To Host 2019 National Gymnastics Championship

UW-Oshkosh has been selected to host the National Collegiate Gymnastics Association (NCGA) Championship on March 22-23, 2019, in Kolf Sports Center.

The NCGA Championship features the top six Division III women's teams in the country and at-large individual qualifiers converging to determine national team and individual champions.

The first day of the event will include team and all-around competitions. The second day will determine individual winners in vault, uneven bars, balance beam and the floor exercise.

The inaugural NCGA Championship was conducted in 1984. Recent national meets have been held at UW-Stout in 2017, State University of New York at Brockport in 2016, UW-La Crosse in 2015, Ithaca College (N.Y.) in 2014 and UW-Whitewater in 2013.

Springfield College (Mass.) will host the 2018 NCGA Championship on March 23-24.

The 14-team NCGA is comprised of programs from Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Wisconsin.

Wisconsin programs have combined to win at least a share of each of the past 17 NCGA championships. UW-Oshkosh claimed titles in 1989 and 2007, while UW-La Crosse owns 17 overall championships and UW-Whitewater three, including the most recent in 2017.

UW-Whitewater scored 191.000 points to capture the 2017 NCGA title. The Warhawks were followed by runner-up UW-La Crosse with 188.300 points, third-place State University of New York at Brockport with 186.800, fourth-place Ursinus College (Pa.) with 186.750, fifth-place UW-Stout with 186.475 and Springfield College (Mass.) with 184.775.

UW-Oshkosh will be hosting a national collegiate gymnastics event for the first time since the 1987 United States Gymnastics Federation (USGF) Men's & Women's Division II-III Championships.

UW-Oshkosh previously hosted the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics Men's Championship in 1975, the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division II Men's Championship in 1981 and the USGF Men's Division II Championship in 1986.