Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Knight, Schumann Selected To All-WIAC Soccer First Team

Knight, Schumann Selected To All-WIAC Soccer First Team

UW-Oshkosh sophomores Mallory Knight and Tory Schumann were among 22 players named to the 2018 All-WIAC Women's Soccer First Team.

Knight was one of nine forwards selected to the all-conference squad while Schumann was one of five defenders receiving all-league recognition. Knight and Schumann were first-time all-conference award winners.

Knight started 17 of the 18 matches she played for the Titans in 2018 and led the team with seven goals, three game-winning goals, 16 points and 29 shots on goal. Knight scored two goals during UW-Oshkosh's 2-1 victory over UW-Stout on Oct. 6 and recorded one goal and one assist in the Titans' 2-1 triumph over the Milwaukee School of Engineering on Sept. 9.

Knight played in all 20 contests, including eight as a starter, for UW-Oshkosh in 2017 and totaled three points on one goal and one assist. Her lone goal of the season was a match-winning score during the Titans' 3-0 victory over the University of Dubuque (Iowa).

Schumann appeared in 19 matches, including 11 as a starter, for the Titans in 2018. She compiled three points on one goal and one assist while leading a defensive unit that ranked fifth in the WIAC with a 1.61 goals against average. Schumann's lone goal on the year, a match winner, led the Titans to a 2-0 victory over UW-Whitewater on Oct. 3.

In 2017, Schumann started six of the 17 matches she played for UW-Oshkosh. Her performance helped the Titans rank fourth in the WIAC with a 1.19 goals against average.

For the second consecutive season, UW-La Crosse's Margaret Harings and Maya Schmitt were selected as the WIAC's Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year, respectively.

Harings collected first team recognition for the fourth straight year, becoming the third UW-La Crosse player to accomplish the feat. She ranks fourth in the conference with 10 goals and fifth with 27 points and seven assists.

Schmitt earned first team honors for second consecutive year and is the first repeat winner of the conference's Defensive Player of the Year award. She spearheaded a UW-La Crosse defense that compiled a conference-best 10 shutouts while ranking second in the league with a 0.92 goals against average. Schmitt ranks 10th in the WIAC with eight goals.

Other players repeating as All-WIAC First Team selections from 2017 were UW-Eau Claire's Emily Sullivan; UW-La Crosse's Lily Brock, Megan Carroll and Kaitlyn Villars; UW-Stevens Point's Maddy Hardyman; UW-Stout's Sydney Kasper; and UW-Whitewater's Anna Boyd and Payton DeLuga.

Sullivan, Carroll, Kasper and DeLuga were also first team selections in 2016, along with UW-Eau Claire's Sammy Lefaive. UW-River Falls' Maggie Koehler was a first team honoree in 2015.

Rounding out this year's All-WIAC First Team were Monica Zoellner from UW-Eau Claire; Cassie Handrick and Delaney Harnell from UW-La Crosse; Amber Lueder and Caelyn Steffens from UW-Platteville; Mariah Troje from UW-River Falls; and Meaghan Ambelang and Kaitlyn Hess from UW-Stevens Point.

The Coaching Staff of the Year award was presented to UW-La Crosse after the Eagles won both the WIAC regular-season and tournament titles. UW-La Crosse, led by head coach Jason Murphy, owns a 17-2-2 record and enters this weekend's NCAA Division III Championship with a program-best 17-match unbeaten streak (16-0-1 record).

UW-Whitewater's DeLuga was named the winner of the WIAC's Judy Kruckman Scholar-Athlete Award.

UW-La Crosse compiled a 6-0-1 WIAC record to repeat as the league's regular-season champion. The Eagles were followed in the standings by second-place UW-Stevens Point (5-0-2); third-place UW-Eau Claire (4-2-1); fourth-place UW-Oshkosh (3-4), UW-Platteville (3-4) and UW-Whitewater (3-4); seventh-place UW-River Falls (2-5); and eighth-place UW-Stout (0-7).

UW-La Crosse went on to win the WIAC's postseason tournament with a 3-1 victory over UW-Eau Claire in the final.

2018 All-WIAC Women's Soccer Team