Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Knight, Schmitz Selected To All-WIAC Soccer Team

Knight, Schmitz Selected To All-WIAC Soccer Team

UW-Oshkosh juniors Mallory Knight and Addie Schmitz were among 22 players chosen to the 2019 All-Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Women's Soccer Team.

Both Titans became second-time award winners, as Knight was also named to the all-conference team last year and Schmitz in 2017.

Knight was one of five forwards selected to this year's all-conference squad while Schmitz was one of eight midfielders receiving all-league recognition.

Knight started all 19 matches for UW-Oshkosh in 2019 and led the team with 20 points, nine goals, four game-winning goals, 40 shots and 22 shots on goal. She currently ranks second in the WIAC in game-winning goals, third in goals scored, seventh in points and eighth in shots attempted.

During UW-Oshkosh's 4-0 win over UW-Platteville on Nov. 2, Knight scored three goals to become the first Titan to record a hat trick since Caitlin Casey tallied three goals against UW-Superior on October 10, 2009. Knight also scored a pair of goals in UW-Oshkosh's 3-1 victory over DePauw University (Ind.) on Aug. 31.

Knight started 17 of the 18 matches she played for the Titans in 2018 and led the team with seven goals, three game-winning goals, 16 points and 29 shots on goal. Knight scored two goals during UW-Oshkosh's 2-1 victory over UW-Stout (Oct. 6) and recorded one goal and one assist in the Titans' 2-1 triumph over the Milwaukee School of Engineering (Sept. 9).

Knight played in all 20 contests, including eight as a starter, for UW-Oshkosh in 2017 and totaled three points on one goal and one assist. Her lone goal of the season was a match-winning score during the Titans' 3-0 victory over the University of Dubuque (Iowa) (Sept. 16).

Schmitz also started all 19 contests for UW-Oshkosh in 2019. She led the Titans with her four assists while ranking second on the squad with her 14 points, five goals, three match-winning goals, 38 shots and 15 shots on goal. Schmitz currently lists fourth in the WIAC in game-winning goals, eighth in assists and 10th in shots attempted.

Schmitz counted one goal and two assists during UW-Oshkosh's 3-1 win over DePauw University on Aug. 31 and one goal and one assist in the Titans' 5-1 victory over North Central College (Ill.) on Oct. 30.

In 2018, Schmitz started 18 of UW-Oshkosh's 19 matches. She recorded one assist while totaling 36 shots, including 13 on goal.

Schmitz started 16 of the Titans' 20 matches in 2017 and paced the squad with her four assists, 36 shots and 23 shots on goal. She scored two goals on the season, including one during UW-Oshkosh's 3-2 triumph over UW-River Falls (Oct. 31) in the opening round of the WIAC Championship.

WIAC regular season and tournament champion UW-Whitewater had a league-high seven players receive all-conference honors this year, including midfielder Anna Brodjian who was selected as the league's Offensive Player of the Year.

Other Warhawks earning All-WIAC accolades this year were defenders Carley Albrecht and Katy Kusswurm; forward Savannah Curtis; goalkeeper Sara Klimisch; and midfielders Anna Boyd and Eli Wahlberg.

Defenders Katie Feller of UW-La Crosse and Meaghan Ambelang of UW-Stevens Point were named the WIAC's Co-Defensive Player of the Year.

Joining Feller on this year's all-conference team were UW-La Crosse teammates Sophie Amundson and Sydney Halstead at midfielder, Quinn Shannon at goalkeeper and Kaitlyn Villars at forward. Halstead, a freshman, was named the conference's Newcomer of the Year.

UW-Stevens Point associates joining Ambelang on this year's all-league team were forward Kati Frierdich and defender Kaitlyn Hess.

Rounding out this year's All-WIAC selections were Kiki Kussow (defender), Emma Stange (midfielder) and Emily Sullivan (midfielder) from UW-Eau Claire; and Maggie Koehler (forward) and Mariah Troje (midfielder) from UW-River Falls.

Koehler and Troje from UW-River Falls, Ambelang and Hess from UW-Stevens Point, Sullivan from UW-Eau Claire, Villars from UW-La Crosse, Knight from UW-Oshkosh, and Boyd from UW-Whitewater were all members of the 2018 All-WIAC Team.

The 2019 WIAC Coaching Staff of the Year award was given to UW-Whitewater. The Warhawks, along with UW-Stevens Point, will be representing the WIAC in the 64-team NCAA Division III Championship that begins play on Friday (Nov. 15).

UW-Whitewater's Klimisch was named this year's winner of the WIAC's Judy Kruckman Scholar-Athlete Award.

UW-Whitewater compiled a 5-1-1 WIAC record this fall to win its seventh league title. The Warhawks were followed in the standings by second-place UW-Eau Claire and UW-Stevens Point (5-2), fourth-place UW-La Crosse (4-2-1), fifth-place UW-Oshkosh (3-4), sixth-place UW-River Falls (2-4-1), seventh-place UW-Platteville (1-5-1) and eighth-place UW-Stout (1-6).

UW-Whitewater went on to win the WIAC's postseason tournament with a 4-1 victory over UW-La Crosse in the final.

UW-Oshkosh concluded its 2019 season with an 8-10-1 overall record. The Titans were eliminated from the six-team WIAC Championship with their 1-0 loss to UW-La Crosse in the opening round.

2019 All-WIAC Women's Soccer Team