Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Defending WIAC Champion Eagles Conquer Titans

UW-La Crosse captured the victory in all 12 events to defeat the UW-Oshkosh women's swimming & diving team, 149-63, on Saturday (Jan. 21) in La Crosse.

UW-Oshkosh earned just two second- and six third-place finishes against the five-time defending WIAC champion Eagles.

McKinzie Halkola paced the Titans by finishing second in the 500-yard freestyle with a time of 5:29.05 and third in the 200-yard freestyle with a performance of 2:04.67.

UW-Oshkosh's Taylor Teske contributed a pair of third-place swims with her times of 26.02 seconds in the 50-yard freestyle and 1:03.20 in the 100-yard backstroke.

Halkola and Teske also swam on a pair of third-place relay teams, the 200-yard freestyle and the 200-yard medley.

Joining Halkola and Teske in marking a time of 1:46.23 in the 200-yard freestyle relay were Alison Panske and Beth Sanderfoot. In the 200-yard medley relay, Panske and Emma Wilcher teamed with Halkola and Teske to register a time of 1:59.84.

UW-Oshkosh also had Cortney Claypool finish second and Brianna Beseler third in the 1,000-yard freestyle with times of 12:16.89 and 12:42.49, respectively.

UW-La Crosse won 10 individual titles in the meet, including the 100-yard backstroke and the 200-yard individual medley by Emma Holbrook.

UW-Oshkosh is off until it welcomes Ripon College to Albee Hall on Feb. 4.