Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Moore Repeats as WIAC Cross Country Champion

Cheyenne Moore is the seventh Titan to win more than one WIAC Championship race.
Cheyenne Moore is the seventh Titan to win more than one WIAC Championship race.

UW-Oshkosh's Cheyenne Moore outran 87 other competitors to repeat as the individual winner at the WIAC Women's Cross Country Championship (Presented by Culver's) on Saturday (Oct. 28) in Whitewater.

Moore, who became the seventh Titan to win more than one WIAC Championship race, completed this year's 6,000-meter course with a time of 22:07. She won last year's title in Stevens Point after finishing 15th at the league championship in 2014 and 45th in 2015.

Sam Slattery of UW-Eau Claire finished second to Moore on Saturday with a time of 22:12 while Sadie Kroll of UW-La Crosse placed third in 22:30. Abigail Fouts of UW-River Falls finished fourth in 22:31 and Rebecca Voss of UW-La Crosse fifth in 22:31.

UW-Oshkosh listed seventh in the team competition with 140 points, but were just two points away from finishing fifth and 11 from placing fourth.

The Titans achieved their team score with Moore's performance and the finishes from Ashton Keene, Jessica Stamn, Hannah Lohrenz and Reece Matheson. Keene placed 37th with a time of 23:48 while Stamn finished 44th in 24:09, Lohrenz 45th in 24:13 and Matheson 52nd in 24:32.

UW-Eau Claire, which finished third at the 2016 WIAC Championship, claimed this year's team title with 33 points. The league championship was the ninth for the Blugolds.

Defending champion UW-La Crosse finished second in this year's team competition with 59 points while UW-River Falls placed third with 91, UW-Platteville fourth with 130, UW-Stevens Point fifth with 139, UW-Stout sixth with 139, UW-Oshkosh seventh and UW-Whitewater eighth with 174.

UW-La Crosse entered the WIAC Championship ranked 12th in the NCAA Division III by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association. UW-Eau Claire ranked 19th nationally while UW-River Falls listed 35th.

Also crossing the finish line for UW-Oshkosh at this year's WIAC Championship were Cammy Garvelink, Erica Liesen, Lexus Brown, Melissa Srnka and Tayah Cunningham.

Garvelink placed 55th with a time of 24:42 while Liesen listed 72nd in 25:45, Brown 77th in 26:07, Srnka 84th in 26:39 and Cunningham 87th in 27:30.

UW-Oshkosh's Hannah Thorn started the race but did not finish.

The top seven runners received All-WIAC first team recognition, while runners placing eight through 14 earned All-WIAC second team accolades. Individuals finishing 15 through 20 claimed honorable mention laurels. 

All eight WIAC teams will compete at the NCAA Division III Midwest Regional on Nov. 11 in Rock Island, Ill. The NCAA Division III Championship will be held Nov. 18 in Elsah, Ill.

2017 WIAC Women's Cross Country Championship Website